Indian Premier League 2019: News, IPL Cricket Schedule, Matchups and Pre-Tournament Tip!

Cricket fans across the globe will have plenty of enticing action to look forward to in 2019, with both the World Cup and the eagerly awaited return of the Indian Premier League coming up in the first half of the year.

The 12th edition of the IPL will begin on March 29 and run through to May 19, with eight of India’s finest cricket clubs competing in this vastly popular Twenty20 event. The teams will all face each other twice – home and away – in the initial round-robin group stage, with the top four progressing to the play-offs. In the group stage, each side will play a total of 14 games.

The play-offs will consist of a pair of “Qualifier” matches, an “Eliminator” clash and the final. The top two sides will face each other in “Qualifier 1,” with the winner progressing to the final. The teams that finish 3rd and 4th will then play in the “Eliminator” for a chance to play in “Qualifier 2,” where they will take on the loser of “Qualifier 1” for a place in the final. On May 19, the game everyone has been waiting for will finally be played and we’ll find out which team will be crowned IPL champions.

IPL Cricket Exciting Matchups

With the fixtures for the 2019 season yet to be released, there’s huge excitement in the air. Perhaps the most mouthwatering encounter of the IPL group stage will be the Chennai Super Kings against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Hyderabad will be looking for revenge after losing to the Super Kings in the 2018 final. Will the Sunrisers be able to make amends for last year’s disappointment or will Chennai inflict more misery on their southern counterparts?

There were some big questions surrounding the Mumbai Indians after their incredibly disappointing IPL 2018 season, which saw them miss out on the play-offs. They will be looking to get off to a better start this time around and show the world why they have won the IPL a joint-record three times. Their long-standing rivalry with heavyweights Chennai Super Kings will be another epic encounter to keep a close eye on. Will Mumbai be able to turn their fortunes around this year?

Which team will win the IPL?

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are undoubtedly strong favourites in the betting, as they both bid to become the most successful IPL score side of all time with a record fourth title. Since 2010, the pair have shared six of the nine titles, and the Super Kings may well have won more had it not been for their two-year suspension in 2016 and 2017. Perhaps their biggest challengers are Hyderabad. Since their first season in 2013, Sunrisers have secured one title and reached the play-offs on four occasions. Kolkata Knight Riders have also shown impressive consistency over the last three years, reaching the play-offs every year since 2016. They may have just missed out on a final birth each time, but this demonstrates steady progress in recent seasons, and for a team with two IPL titles to their name, they must be considered amongst the main contenders. So why not back the Knight Riders to go one better this year and reach the final?

So, what are you waiting for? Dive in to the amazing experience called IPL 2019 and Win!


      Select language

      Odds style:

      Time zone